h1

Hearts of Darkness, Faces of Babies

November 3, 2008

I can’t tell which kind of movie the Academy preferred more, war movies (All Quiet on the Western Front, From Here to Eternity, Patton) or movies with no female speaking parts (Lawrence of Arabia) I’m guessing that the Academy must have done cartwheels when Oliver Stone added 1986’s. Platoon to the war waging and no English speaking female parts pot. And they should have. Platoon is very good, very brutal, very well written (well, Oliver Stone has been generously rewarded for his talent of spinning a pretty good yarn) and excellently cast: Willem Dafoe and Tom Berenger are both superb–and both nominated for the best supporting actor award (losing out to Michael Caine in Hannah and Her Sisters) as the Sgts. of good (Dafoe) and evil (Berenger). I love that Stone later cast them both in his Vietnam follow-up film, Born on the 4th of July only with Dafoe being the evil character and Berenger being the good. Also in this cast is 2006’s best actor Academy Award winner, a baby faced Forest Whittaker, also major motion oicture star, super baby-faced Johnny Depp and a whole lot of actors who we now see regularly on American TV: baby-faced Charlie Sheen (Two and a Half Men), a youngish John McGinley (Scrubs), a baby-faced Kevin Dillon (Entourage) and an even more baby faced Mark Moses (Mad Men). It was quite the treat for me to see Mark Moses, too. Mad Men is my absolute favorite show right now. It’s sooooo great. If you haven’t seen it yet, try to watch it–it’s on Sunday’s on the AMC channel.

Unfortunately, last night my copy of Platoon was not working properly in my DVD player so Jim had to go out to, ew, Blockbuster and rent the DVD. Coincidentally while I waited for him to come back, I watched the tail end of the aforementioned Born on the 4th of July.

Platoon also marks a somewhat important personal milestone for me. This was the first Oscar winning movie I saw in a theater–or more correctly since I’m now dating (later to marry) a true Chicago guy –at the show with , that much beloved last minute Blockbuster DVD fetcher and semi-irregular commentator, Jim. Either I’m getting old or this project is almost finished. Ok, both. Sigh.

For dinner I attempted to cook a Vietnamese pork thing that I found at the Food and Wine website, But it turned out horrible and too hot so I’m not going to post the recipe. All told this really was not a good night for the Oscars in Order crew. Although giving credit where credit is due, Jim did grill the pork chops perfectly. So, kudos to him. What he wont do to watch a brutal war movie…..or eat pork.

