h1

Au Revoir, New York

June 30, 2008

There are some movies you watch about drinking that make you feel like *you’ve* been drinking (The Lost Weekend, Barfly) even when you haven’t. Watching that Oliver Stone movie The Doors always makes me feel a little bit like I’ve been doing drugs. Even though I would *never* do that. (Anymore.) Kramer Vs. Kramer made me feel like I needed to get a divorce. Because they make divorce look so pretty: If I played my cards right, I could abandon my children, jeopardize my husband’s career, and find myself a better job that pays more than the ex-hubby makes. And then get my kids back, or not. That would be totally up to me. Truth be told, I just don’t know if I could sacrifice my Amex or Bloomingdale’s credit cards like Joanna Kramer did though. Sigh, I might as well stay married. You’re safe this time, Jim.

We’ve reached another milestone. Kramer Vs. Kramer is, as of 2008, the sixteenth and, so far, final movie set in New York City to win the best picture award (mostly–NYC has a brief cameo in Terms of Endearment and a bit part in Forrest Gump). Wow. It’s pretty amazing when you think that the Academy was averaging about three New York pictures per decade. But if they we’re going to stop giving out best picture awards to New York movies maybe they should have let Annie Hall be the coda. Because Kramer Vs. Kramer is not that great of a movie. And it certainly doesn’t hold up very well. At all. It is the quintessential “me decade” movie. In 1979 Apocalypse Now wasn’t considered the masterpiece it is now so in my head I know the best picture should have gone there . But my heart says it should have gone to Bob Fosse’s brilliant and dazzling All That Jazz. Roy Scheider was robbed too.

For dinner we traveled back to The Silver Palate cookbook for some recipes. The Silver Palate store and subsequent cookbook were around the same time as Kramer Vs. Kramer. And it’s very yuppified, just like the Kramer’s. But it’s a great cookbook. Especially if you love pesto. And I do. Even though we didn’t have pesto. But we had basil.

Pasta Seafood Salad–adapted from The Silver Palate

  1. Bring a large pot of salted water to boil, drop in the shrimp and scallops, cook for one minute, and drain immediately. Bring another large pot of salted water to boil. Cook the pasta as directed on the package, until tender but not mushy. Drain. Toss the cooked pasta and seafood in a large bowl (make sure they are both well drained). Add the peas, red pepper, and onion, and toss.
  2. Place dressing ingredients (olive oil, basil leaves, lemon juice, salt, and pepper) in a food processor bowl fitted with a metal blade. Process until basil is very fine. Pour over the pasta/seafood mixture and mix well. Taste and add salt, pepper, and/or lemon juice as necessary.
  3. Place the salad in a serving bowl or mound it on a platter. Scatter with greek olives.
  4. Serve immediately, or cover and refrigerate. Salad tastes better when at room temperature, so if refrigerating until later, be sure to take it out of the fridge for 30 minutes before serving.

For dessert we had chocolate chip ice cream. Just like Billy Kramer did. Only we didn’t get into trouble.

One comment

  1. i didn’t know you still had a bloomingdales card!



Comments are closed.

