h1

Transplendent

May 29, 2008

Alvy: What’s with all these awards? They’re always giving out awards. Best Fascist Dictator: Adolf Hitler.

1977 was the summer, fall, winter & spring of Star Wars. Star Wars was everywhere and everywhere you went there was Star Wars. It was inescapable. I remember watching the 1977 Oscar ceremony and being floored —my jaw completely dropping. And dropping out of joy: Annie Hall won best picture for 1977. Not the behemoth that was and kinda sorta still is Star Wars.

It’s also nice to note that a comedy won best picture. Comedies are rare for Oscar winners :It Happened One Night, You Can’t Take It With You, The Apartment being the only comedy winning predecessors I can think of.

It was such a treat watching this old favorite of mine. In fact movies like Annie Hall or Casablanca (Oh, yes this one’s up there with Casablanca for me) and the watching there of was one of the reasons I/we decided to do this whole enchilada. Sucker that I am for romance. And comedy. On the other hand, Jim is on board more for the Braveheart and Deer Hunter type movies. He a sucker for blood and gore. And men with blue faces.

Annie, there’s a big lobster behind the refrigerator. I can’t get it out. This thing’s heavy. Maybe if I put a little dish of butter sauce here with a nutcracker, it will run out the other side.

Also, when back when we were brainstorming this little project (Movie + food= fun) Annie Hall was a natural, because it has a couple of scenes with lobsters. We love lobsters. In fact, when we get live lobsters Jim like to name them. Usually the lobster ends up with the name “Pinchy.” This time we had Alvy

and Annie

We started the movie with a little side by side appetizer– sort of a salute to the Easter in Wisconsin scene/ the Singers and the Halls

[Annie’s family and Alvy’s family converse through a split screen]
Mom Hall: How do you plan to spend the holidays, Mrs. Singer?
Alvy’s Mom: We fast.
Dad Hall: Fast?
Alvy’s Dad: No food. You know, to atone for our sins.

Mom Hall: What sins? I don’t understand.

Alvy’s Dad: To tell you the truth, neither do we.

For the Singers we had smoked salmon with a little cream cheese on crackers–for the Halls we had Triscuit triangles with a little nice ham and Wisconsin cheddar cheese:

Pretty!

And the lobsters were easy to make–throw them in a large pot of boiling, salted water. Start timing when the water starts boiling again. Cook until the lobsters turn red (about 5 minutes per lobster) and then let rest for about 5 minutes. Then have at it. Oh, it’s easy to clarify butter, too. Put a stick of butter in a ramekin and place in the low temp oven for about 45 minutes–the milk solids rise to the top–just skim ’em off and you’ve got some clarified butter for lobster dipping.

I realized what a terrific person she was, and… and how much fun it was just knowing her; and I… I, I thought of that old joke, y’know, the, this… this guy goes to a psychiatrist and says, “Doc, uh, my brother’s crazy; he thinks he’s a chicken.” And, uh, the doctor says, “Well, why don’t you turn him in?” The guy says, “I would, but I need the eggs.” Well, I guess that’s pretty much now how I feel about relationships; y’know, they’re totally irrational, and crazy, and absurd, and… but, uh, I guess we keep goin’ through it because, uh, most of us… need the eggs.

So I made the eggiest dessert I know: Souffle.

From Gale Gand—Hot Vanilla Souffle with Chocolate Sauce

