h1

Indecision ’08

January 21, 2008

Just like all of these up-in-the-air presidential primaries, the predicitions for the nominations (announced tomorrow, January 22nd early in the morning) for the 2008 Academy Awards are all over the map. Cool! I hate predictibility, but I love playing the predicting game (and, hey, I picked the Giants over the Packers, even though I don’t know diddley about football. I just like saying “All hail the New York Giants.” Thanks , Madagascar.)

Anyway, here are some of my predictions /hopes for tomorrow’s nominations: I loved Atonement and hope everyone from it gets nominated esepcially the amazing young actress with the amazingly difficult name, Saorise Ronan. She’s 13 and she stole the movie right out from under Keira Knightly and James McAvoy.

I’d like to see some nominations head Hairspray‘s way, too. John Travolta’s name is the one that being bandied about, but really, wouldn’t it be great if Christopher Walken got a nod? To answer my own rhetorical question, yes, it would be great.

One of the best movies, in my opinion, this year was Ratatouille. It’ll get it’s nomination in the best animated feature, It deserves a best picture nom too.

And, of course, come February 24th I hope that there’s an actual, traditional, long, boring Oscar ceremony. That’s up in the air, too. Just give the writer’s what they want, already! Jeez.

Traditionally while I watch the nominations, I like to have a little bit of a fancier breakfast than normal. For tomorrow I’m planning on some sparkling cranberry juice, some fruit and a muffin.

One comment

  1. OK, Atonement got one for Saorise Ronan. Ratatouille got a big one with an Original
    Screenplay nod. Hairspray got zilch. Not bad.



Comments are closed.

