h1

Old Blood and Guts Was a Wee Bit Nuts

January 17, 2008

We had an accidental mini Francis Ford Coppola film fest this past Sunday. My daughter and I sat down to watch 1974’s The Great Gatsby (she had read the novel for her English class; this is finals week) which (I didn’t know this beforehand) Mr. Coppola adapted the screenplay for. And which takes less time to read than watch. I’m not kidding.  But it was kinda fun. Mia Farrow was soooooo pregnant during this movie. But I’m digressing before I even begin.

Francis Ford Coppola also wrote the screenplay for 1970’s best, Patton. It’s a great writing job. Amazing, masterful acting job. And, yes, this this is the infamous role for which George C. Scott infamously refused to accept the Oscar. Rod Steiger turned down this role and later called it the biggest mistake of his career. Great movie, really. And I hate war movies. But this one I liked. Perhaps because Patton himself was such a kook.

It starts out with that famous monologue in front of the gigantic American Flag. It’s a kick ass way to start a movie:

Then it proceeds to show some military stuff, some war, some strategizing, some guy gets slapped and all hell breaks loose, some more war, and then the war is won and Patton doesn’t know what to do. Because this guy Patton was war crazy and regular crazy. I’d never want to be in a place where I’d stick my hands in some goo that was once my best friend’s face. AND I wouldn’t know what to do if I did. Execpt maybe scream, and I’m guessing that’s the wrong answer.

For dinner I found a great cookbook called Grandma’s Wartime Kitchen. It’s a fun collection of recipes made with stuff that was readily avalaible during the war. And how food was stretched because of rationing. I made a meatloaf roly poly. Yum.

1/2 lb each of ground beef, ground pork, ground veal

1 egg

salt & pepper

3 cups cubed bread(i used stuffing mix)

1/2 cup each of onion & red pepper

1/4 cup milk

1/cup parsley

1 teaspoon marjoram

mix meats and egg & salt & pepper together. Flatten out on a piece of wax paper in a 12″ square. Mix remaining ingrediants and flatten out on top of the meat square. Carefully roll up the meat loaf and place in a greased baking pan. Place a slice or two of bacon on top of the loaf. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 50-60 minutes. Let rest for about 5 minutes after baking. Slice and enjoy. Serve with ketchup, it’s the condiment that helped us win the war.

I found an amazingly coincidental recipe on the food network website. These are great potatoes: Thanks, Nigella!

Blood and Guts Potatoes (really! isn’t that cool?)

