h1

Naming Names

May 28, 2007

Hi…. remember me? I watch Oscar winning movies in order with my family and eat food that’s appropriate to the movie. It’s been awhile. Yes, “I Love Paris in the Springtime,” “Wolfgang Puck’s cous cous salad” yea, that’s me. Yes, hello, I’m back. Woo-hoo.

So, we finally got around to what is the most complex movie we’re probably ever gonna get to, in this exercise of complete randomness and triviality: On the Waterfront.

This is definitely the Oscar winner with the classiest pedigree. This is also the one I was most scared of. This is the one I’ll never do justice to. This is Marlon Brando at his best. If you’ve ever seen a scene from Waterfront, it’s probably the scene with Brando and Rod Steiger (“I coulda had class..) in the taxi cab. But, pretty much *every* scene from Waterfront is a great scene. The acting is phenomenal. Brando, Rod Steiger, Karl Malden, Eva Marie Saint, Martin Balsam. All these actors have won Academy Awards. Lee J. Cobb, who’s the villian of this piece, originated the Broadway role of Death of a Salesman‘s Willy Loman. Pedigree.

Fun stuff: look for a really young Fred Gwynne aka Fred Munster. He’s in the movie a lot, but I think he only had one line.

But with even all those wonderful actors and the amazing director (Elia Kazan) and the accomplished writer (Budd Schulburg) do ya know who really steals this show? Mr. Leonard Bernstein. No one knew how to make New York symphonically sing like it should, when it should, like Leonard Bernstein. And it sings here. It sings like a canary.

Apparently, Elia Kazan was attracted to this story because it sympathetically depicts a character “naming names.” Elia Kazan named names at the HUAC trials. Some people never forgave him for this.

For my pal Carpus (and check out his blog which is so much cooler than mine) who has the guts to comment on my site. We made, “Well, duh, seafood”for On the Waterfront.

Sauteed Tilapia w/ and Asparagus and Sun-dried tomato Saute

I sauteed about a pound of asparagus chopped up in 1 inch parts in 3 tablespoons olive oil. I let about 1/2 cup of sundried tomatoes steep in 1/4 cup of white wine and the added to the asparagus with about a pinch of dried thyme and a tablespoon of fresh parsley. I sauteed them for about 4-5 minutes. And the put in a bowl and let the flavors assimilate.

Soak a Tilpaia or white fish filet in milk for about 15-20 minutes. Dredge in flour, bread crumbs or cracker crumbs and saute in a heated pan for about 2-3 minutes per side. Finish off in a hot oven(425-500) degrees until done.

We served this with a cold Asian salad we picked up from a neighborhood grocery store.

For dessert we had a Chocolate cake we won at a silent auction. It was baked by Chicago’s very famous pastry chef, Mindy Segal herself. And it was too big and too rich and too great.

Happy 16th birthday, Roxane. As amazing as it is that your petite self is sixteen, it’s not as amazing as yourself is. And happy 80th birthday, Mom. Thank you for letting me be me.

One comment

  1. Good to see you back again. I’ve never seen this flick but I guess I should. I’ll stick it on my Netflix queue.

    And cooler? I doubt that. At least you can manage to stick to one topic!



Comments are closed.

