h1

The Wind Done Gone, almost

October 25, 2006

1939 is considered to be the golden year in film: The Wizard of Oz, Mr. Smith Goes to Washington, Wuthering Heights, The Rules of the Game, Beau Geste, Gunga Din, Ninotchka, Gone With The Wind. I don’t know if GWTW is any better (it’s certainly the least politically incorrect, I think) than any of the aforementioned, all I know is that is still has the power to just inexplicably suck you in. If you read my last post you probably know that I’ve seen this movie more than several times. My mom has too. And she was very excited about seeing it again. She had it all set up in her DVD player when we got to her house. And we got to hear her story of her seeing it on its first run, in 1939-40, when she was twelve. And it played in a movie palace, somewhere in Davenport, Ia. Sigh. Talk about projecting. (I absolutely love that she loves that we’re doing this. I hope she still likes this project when we get to The Godfather. ) The fifteen year old has been really terrific about watching most of these movies, too, the nine year old, not so much. This was probably nine year old Nat’s best viewing time since Wings. And this movie is four hours long. That’s eight Sponge Bob episodes. At times she *really* got into it: The scene where Rhett bids for a dance with the recently widowed Scarlett (the only surviving scene directed by Geo. Cukor) elicited a somewhat concerned “uh-oh” from my tomboy, who’d rather play Neopets on the computer while we do this crazy exercise. Score.

A great play that references GWTW and its’ Atlanta premiere is The Last Night of Ballyhoo. If you ever get a chance to see it, please do. It is fabulous.

I just saw it in the window, and I couldn’t resist.



DVDs are spoiling and killing me. The special features for Gone With The Wind are on a whole ‘nother disc. We’ve decided to do that part next week. Rebecca and the 1940’s will have to wait another week. Maybe I’m justdelaying the whole English cuisine thing, who knows?

For dinner this week, we did…. surprise! barbecue. In 40 degree Chicago weather. Yum. Brrr. I used Paula Deen’s The Lady & Sons BBQ sauce for the chicken. Which was great. And her Peach Cobbler, which was good.

The Lady’s BBQ Sauce

1/2 c vegetable oil

1/4 c lemon juice

1 t pepper

3/4 cup ketchup

3 T brown sugar

pinch of garlic salt or garlic powder ( or mince a garlic clove)

2 t salt 1/2 c apple cider vinegar

3 T Worcestershire sauce ( I love it when I pronounce mangle the word “Worcestershire”)

2 t paprika

3/4 c water (although this seems a lot; I used about 1/3 c and it was fine–I don’t like a thin sauce).

3 T prepared mustard. Yep, that yellow stuff.

1/2 onion finely chopped.

Mix all ingredients together & simmer over medium heat for 15-20 minutes until desired thickness & taste.

Jim used this for barbecued chicken breasts. He usually grills on a gas grill. My dad was nuts for charcoal, which we decided was too much fuss, and a little too dirty. But the taste was phenomenal.

Peach Cobbler

1 stick butter

1 cup sugar

¾ cup self-rising flour

¾ cup milk

One 28 oz can sliced peaches (although on the foodtv.com website Paula recommends fresh peaches, It is October in Chicago, you can’t find fresh peaches. I used canned.

Preheat oven 350 degrees. Put butter in deep baking dish and place in oven to melt. Mix sugar and flour; add milk slowly to avoid lumping. Pour over melted butter. Spoon fruit on top. Gently, and sparingly (it’s way sweet) pour in syrup. Don’t stir. Bake for 20-45 minutes, or longer; this took close to an hour (in other words keep an eye on this past 30 minutes). Let cool , for 5-10 minutes, put ice cream on top. Yum.

2 comments

  1. Another good post. I saw GWTW 30-odd years ago when I was a young’un but haven’t seen it since. In fact I’ve been avoiding it. As you imply, it’s a very old-school and south-centric look at the civil war, and my irritation with that has gotten in the way. But it’s probably one of the few older movies that my wife would watch with pleasure, so maybe I should revise my stance.

    The barbeque sauce sounds good. I think even I could do that and maybe I will. I’ll have to save this post.

    Rebecca is one of my favorites! I love Hitchcock. Just watched Dial M for Murder and had forgotten how good it is.

    Enjoy! See you next week!


  2. This is really fresh idea of the design of the site! I seldom met such in Internet. Good Work dude!



Comments are closed.

