h1

More Stairs! More Stars!

October 9, 2006

There could not *be* any more stairs than there are in The Great Ziegfeld. Or, stars: William Powll, Myrna Loy, Ray Bolger, Virginia Bruce, Fanny Brice, Frank Morgan, Uncle Charlie from ” My Three Sons” And yet William Powell’s Ziegfeld’s biggest regret is that there weren’t enough stairs. How about a keener editor…it’s a almost a three hour movie (I mean, really: Some of these numbers went on for an hour. Luise Rainer we’re pointing our finger at you). But it was great to see a pretty decent musical win the best picture award. And it was very entertaining. Frank Morgan and William Powell made a great comedy team.

And it was fun watching an old black and white grainy movie with actors that my kids recognized. Of course, they’re all (both of them) Wizard of Oz related. So thanks, Frank and thanks Ray Bolger. And thanks, Myrna Loy for playing Billie Burke. Who played Glinda. Wow, a lot did happen before Dorothy dropped in.

Some points we want to remember:

  • William Powell and his William Powellness was the reason they invented the word “suave.”
  • Ray Bolger, most underrated dancer, ever.
  • Fanny Brice was a Funny Girl! (although Streisand could sing rings around her).
  • Myrny Loy, most underrated film actress, ever. Love her.
  • Luise Rainer, still alive (as of 10/8/06)!!?! Well, bless her!
  • Cedric Gibbons, they should name that Art Direction Oscar after you. Yowza, That “Pretty Girl is Like a Melody” number.  Highlight of this project, so far.

For dinner I went with the Broadway, New York feel. So we had Yankee Pot Roast. It’s truly one of the best pot roasts ever (my dad’s barbecued pot roast being the pot roast ever; the one that God orders when He’s in a Pot Roast mood.) But, this pot roast, this Yankee pot roast is good too, it could undoubtably have defeated those Tigers, if only Joe had put it in a game or two. It (the pot roast) also, seriously, is a lot of fun to make (so easy!) and a truly great recipe in so many ways. I don’t want to spoil how fun this recipe is…so please read it. Make the Pot Roast, and for heaven’s sake, sing too:

http://www.yankeepotroast.org/bottom/recipe.html

For dessert I made an Apple Crumb Pie from a recipe from the Magnolia Bakery cookbook. I’ve never been to the Magnolia Bakery in New York. But I’ve made about half a dozen recipes from this cook book and they always com eout amazingly perfect. And this pie was perfect. And I’ve made about a million pies before. And this pie. Perfect.


Magnolia Bakery’s Apple Crumb Pie

Basic Crust

1/1/2 cups flour

1/2 cup shortening

1/3 cup ice water ( and ice water is *really* important to a good crust) .

Put the flour in the bowl of your Kitchenaid mix master (and if you dont have a K itchenaid mix master, get one. Now). Add the shortening and mix using the dough hook until the pieces are pea sized. Sprinkle the ice water over the flour mixture and blend using the dough hook until it forms a ball. Roll it out, using plenty of flour so that the dough does not stick and fit it into a 9 inch pie dish. Try to have one of those great Emile Henry pie dishes from Williams-Sonoma or HomeGoods. It helps.

For the filling: peel , core and chop about 5-6 medium sized tart apples (granny smith, rome) add 1 tablespoon flour, a pinch of cinnamon, a grating or two of fresh nutmeg & 3 tablespoon of sugar. Mix together and pour into the pie shell.
for the topping: blend 2 cups flour 1 1/3 cups brown sugar and 1 cup (2 sticks) butter in your lifesaving mixmaster until the mixture resemble coarse crumbs. Remember to feel lucky that you have that mixmaster: it’s doing *all* the work. Put the topping on top of the apple mixture and bake at 425 degrees for ten minutes, then reduce the temp to 375 and bake for another 25-30ish minutes until its golden brown on top. If you’re the total hedonist serve with whipped cream, or vanilla ice cream, but you really won’t need it, this pie is like the Rockefellers, it’s rich.
Apple pie

4 comments

  1. Myrna Loy is a goddess! A fantastic actress and a beautiful woman. She is one of my favorites, ever. I can’t think of a bad movie that she’s been in.

    I enjoy your posts; I love old films (esp the screwball comedies). Now if I can just get my wife to cook some of these recipies …

    (I guess I could do it myself, but that would involve getting up from my chair.)


  2. Thanks, Carpus…

    I totally agree with you about Myrny Loy, she’s always so perfect. I hope that watching this movie will lead my kids towards better Wm. Piwell Myrna Loy stuf (e.g. The Thin Man stuff)

    p.s. LOL Bring your chair into the kitchen! I think you can make these recipes sitting down.


  3. […] On a related note, I’ve been tuning in to this site recently. This woman is watching all the Oscar-winning movies in order and is cooking for each of them and publishing the recipes she’s cooking. Fun idea, eh? Her last post was on The Great Ziegfeld and she notes is got some great stars. One of note is Myrna Loy. I love Myrna Loy. She is an absolute goddess and I’ve never seen a movie with her in it that I didn’t like. If you don’t know about her, you haven’t yet lived.The other thing she notes is how bad a lot of Oscar-winning movies are. For instance she notes that the very boring Cavalcade won in the same year that saw a bunch of fantastic and better movies, like Little Women, Lady for a Day, 42nd Street, Dinner at Eight, Queen Christina, and King Kong! […]


  4. Very interesting site… I wish I could build one like yours!nancy



Comments are closed.

