h1

The Silent Beginning

July 23, 2006

The collection begins: In February of 2004 Turner Classic Movies broadcast several Academy Award winning movies, well more than several. Long story short: I decided to abuse my DVR and save the best picture winners for viewing when I got ’em all. Well, after much dvr-ing, netflixing and local community college library borrowing, I have my collection. And then, to make it more interesting for all, I decided to add a theme dinner for each film. And I picked Sunday as the date I’d force my kids and husband (although he seems to be all for it) to watch. And tonight’s the first night. Wings, yikes, a silent movie.

clara.jpg

clara bow

The dinner? Grilled chicken wings (two kinds) and (Clara) Bow Tie Pasta with Marinara sauce with a swirl of pesto & toasted pine nuts. And some gorgeous green beans i just picked this morning from by bean pole plant.

Recipes:

Mustard Wings

I got this recipe, a million years ago from a Williams Sonoma catalog. It’s fantastic. Combine equal parts dijon mustard (I used Trader Joe’s brand mustard, not Grey Poupon. I love Trader Joe’s.) with olive oil , add a pinch of red pepper flakes and some freshly chopped dill. Put wings in a ziplock bag and pour mustard concoction in, marinate for a while, grill them until they are cooked. Eat. Yum.

BBQ Wings
Put wings in a ziploc bag with your favorite dry rub (My favorite? from The Thrill of the Grill by Chris Schlesinger–yes,it’s at Amazon–combine 2T salt, 2T sugar,2T brown sugar, 2 T ground cumin, 2T chili powder, 1 T cayenne pepper 4T paprika put it in a tupperware container and keep it handy, its very good). Grill wings, baste with bbq sauce. I’m using a new (for me)one tonight. Mr Stubbs Mopping Sauce. Or something like that. We’ll see how it turns out.

Clara Bow Tie Pasta

Couldn’t be easier–cook bow tie pasta according to package directions cover with marinara sauce. I don’t feel like making a sauce tonight (it’s too hot) so I’ll probably be using a jar of Classico. Swirl in some pesto (1 cups tightly packed fresh basil leaves, 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil,1 or 2 T pine nuts, 1 garlic cloves, peeled,pinch of salt, 1/4cup freshly grated parmigiano-reggiano, blend).

78 Sundays. I hope this works out.

